Who's who


National President

Shayne Kummerfeld

National Secretary

Mark Diamond

National Vice President

JJ Styles

National Vice President

Leanne Holmes

National Vice President

William Lekkas

Assistant National Secretary

Allan Barden

Assistant National Secretary (Locomotive Division)

Keith McMahon

Assistant National Secretary (Rail Operations Division)

Darren Galea

Assistant National Secretary (Fleet Manufacture, Overhaul, Maintenance and Service Division)

Greg Tatnell

Assistant National Secretary (Infrastructure Division)

Trent Howard

Assistant National Secretary (Administrative, Supervisory, Technical and Professional Division)

Victor Moore

Assistant National Secretary (Tram and Bus)

Phil Altieri

Branch Secretary (NSW)

Alex Claassens

Branch Secretary (Vic)

Luba Grigorovitch

Branch Secretary (Qld)

Peter Allen

Branch Secretary (SA/NT)

Darren Phillips

Branch Secretary (WA)

Craig McKinley

Branch Secretary (WA PTA)

Josh Dekuyer

Branch Secretary (Tas)

Ric Bean


National Secretary: Mark Diamond

Mark Diamond was appointed as National Secretary of the Rail, Tram and Bus Union in October 2019.

Mark was previously the RTBU's National Lawyer, where he worked closely with officials, organisers, delegates and members across all Branches and Divisions in:

  • Running high-level and precedent-setting legal cases for members;
  • Providing strategic and legal advice across the union on enterprise bargaining and industrial strategies;
  • Coordinating the National Office’s campaign against wage theft at labour hire companies);
  • Leading the implementation of training programs across the Union; and
  • Leading the Union’s response in nationally significant industrial and legal disputes.

Assistant National Secretary: Allan Barden

Allan Barden was employed by the State Rail Authority (now Sydney Trains) as a train driver for 14 years before he was elected the last national General Secretary of the Australian Federated Union of Locomotive Enginemen (AFULE).  1993 the AFULE was amalgamated into the new Rail, Tram and Bus Union (RTBU), and Allan became the Assistant National Secretary of the Locomotive Division.  He held this position from 1993 until 2002.

From 2002 until 2009 Allan worked in the NSW Branch of the RTBU, initially as the Assistant Locomotive Divisional Secretary and then as Passenger Organiser. 

Allan was elected as National Secretary of the RTBU in 2009 and held this position until 2011.  He was elected Assistant National Secretary in 2011 and re-elected as Assistant National Secretary in 2014.

Allan has served as a representative on a number of policy committees and taskforces – including:

  • Rail Safety National Law Maintenance Advisory Group;

  • National Rail Safety Regulator Reference Group;

  • Rail Industry Safety and Standards Board (RISSB) development group.\

National Organiser & Coordinator: Leanne Holmes

National Organiser & Coordinator: Ken Aldridge

Manager, Industry Skills & Standards: Gary Talbot

Industrial Officer: Minna Davis

Administration/Research Officer: Sarah (Rusty) Langdon

Executive Director: Stewart Prins